Daily Bridge Tip 46

There’s no right answer because it’s a question of partnership agreement and judgement.

There are three possible meanings if you decide to double
(1) Take out
(2) Penalties
(3) Optional showing some high cards

Each of these agreements works well on some hand types and badly on others so it comes down to what works best most frequently.

(1) is unambiguous in that opener is expected to take out unless she has good trumps and wishes to make a penalty pass. The problem with this agreement is that frequently partner takes out into a non making contract when 4 ♠ cannot make.

(2) is also unambiguous in that opener is expected to pass other than in exceptional circumstances. The problem with this agreement is that overcaller gets away undoubled unless you either have good trumps or a very good hand.

(3) is much more flexible and requires opener to pass unless she has a hand that is much better suited to offense than defense, and expects to make the 5 level contract. South is expected to have at least two tricks in defense to double. The problem with this agreement is that it requires good judgement from both opener and her partner.

On the hand in question, you have to pass playing (1) and (2).
Playing (3) it’s a close call between pass and double but pass is probably best because you don’t have two certain defensive tricks. Experts will be divided on whether to pass or double!

Read more
0 0 vote
Article Rating
Subscribe
Notify of
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments