Daily Bridge Tip 19

The underlying decision revolves around trying to create a defensive trick either for yourself or partner.

(a) Do NOT cover. If declarer has J10x covering will create 2 tricks for declarer. It can’t gain to cover.

(b) DO cover. You are trying to create a trick for partner holding 10xx. If you fail to cover, declarer will finesse twice for 3 tricks. If declarer holds J10x it doesn’t matter what you do.

(c) Do NOT cover. Declarer will have to play ♦ A on the second round of the suit and your ♦ K is still intact. Covering wouldn’t have been smart if declarer holds QJ10xx

(d) DO cover. You are destined to make 2 tricks with your ♣ 109. If declarer has ♣ QJ then it wasn’t essential to cover ♣ Q, but you are going to feel silly if declarer led a sneaky ♣ Q from ♣ Qx and partner holds ♣ Jxx.

As a general rule

With one high honour in dummy, cover the SECOND honour led.
With two high honours in dummy, cover the FIRST honour led.

but remember

THE OBJECTIVE IS TO CREATE A TRICK OR TRICKS FOR YOU OR YOUR PARTNER SO DON’T FOLLOW RULES BLINDLY

Read more
0 0 vote
Article Rating
Subscribe
Notify of
2 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Stephen Ashforth
Stephen Ashforth
8 months ago

I understand the logic for the answer for c) but I think we have all faced a situation when South has led an unsupported Q, and we haven’t covered for the reason given. One doesn’t half feel stupid when the uncovered Q wins the trick.