- The right bid with one partner may be the wrong bid with another.
- More points are lost through cowardice than recklessness. It’s a bidder’s game.
- If you agree a convention, be prepared for interference and decide how to handle it.
- System cannot replacement judgement. Nothing can.
- Don’t be afraid to bid against experts. They don’t like coping with preempts any more than you do.
- One great secret of winning bridge is knowing when to pass.
- Don’t expect to defeat every contract you double. If you do, you are not doubling enough.
- If partner makes a mistake, don’t assume they are crazy. Assume they had a reason for the action they took.
- If partner makes a mistake, consider whether YOU might have have done something differently.
- REMEMBER IT’S ONLY A GAME. ENJOY IT AND HAVE FUN!
Assuming you win the first trick with ♦ A the critical play comes at trick 2.
You need to make four club tricks but have only two entries to dummy.
You won’t have a problem if clubs break 3-2 but what if they break 4-1? This is quite likely given West’s overcall.
If you draw trumps immediately ending in dummy you won’t be able to pick up the club suit if East has ♣ Kxxx
Leading ♣ Q at trick 2 doesn’t work either because East won’t cover and you can’t play another club before trumps are drawn in case West can ruff the second club.
The answer is to LEAD A SMALL CLUB AT TRICK 2 and finesse.
You then draw trumps ending in dummy and play ♣ Q in order to pick up East’s suit.
WHEN DUMMY IS SHORT OF ENTRIES THINK CAREFULLY HOW YOU INTEND TO USE THOSE ENTRIES.
You win ♣ A and hope to draw trumps so you can enjoy the excellent diamond suit.
If you cash ♥ A and ♥ K and then tackle diamonds there is a danger of a diamond ruff before you can discard your losing spades. Your only hope is that three rounds of diamonds remain unruffed, otherwise you will lose a trump and three spades.
You need to lose one trump trick at a time when dummy still has a trump to protect you in spades.
The way to do that is to DUCK THE FIRST ROUND OF TRUMPS.
Now all the defenders can do is to take two spade tricks and you will get the rest of the tricks because you can ruff a third round of spades.
This line of play is not waterproof against every different distribution of the cards, but is the line which gives you the highest probability of success.
It’s a complete guess unless you took the precaution of cashing your winners first before playing the heart suit.
West has already shown up with 5 diamonds.
If you cash all your spades you find that West started with 4 spades.
When you cash your clubs you find that West started with 2 clubs
West’s shape is therefore 4 ♠ – 2 ♥ – 5 ♦ – 2 ♣
YOU FINESSE THE ♥ 10 WITH 100% CERTAINTY.
COUNT THE HAND BEFORE COMMITTING TO A CRITICAL FINESSE.
There’s no right answer because it’s a question of partnership agreement and judgement.
There are three possible meanings if you decide to double
(1) Take out
(3) Optional showing some high cards
Each of these agreements works well on some hand types and badly on others so it comes down to what works best most frequently.
(1) is unambiguous in that opener is expected to take out unless she has good trumps and wishes to make a penalty pass. The problem with this agreement is that frequently partner takes out into a non making contract when 4 ♠ cannot make.
(2) is also unambiguous in that opener is expected to pass other than in exceptional circumstances. The problem with this agreement is that overcaller gets away undoubled unless you either have good trumps or a very good hand.
(3) is much more flexible and requires opener to pass unless she has a hand that is much better suited to offense than defense, and expects to make the 5 level contract. South is expected to have at least two tricks in defense to double. The problem with this agreement is that it requires good judgement from both opener and her partner.
On the hand in question, you have to pass playing (1) and (2).
Playing (3) it’s a close call between pass and double but pass is probably best because you don’t have two certain defensive tricks. Experts will be divided on whether to pass or double!
This is an innocuous situation which is easy to get wrong.
(a) You have to hope East holds both the Jack and the Queen. The correct line is to run the 10.
(b) The correct play is to run the 10 and if it loses to the Jack or Queen you play the Ace on the second round. If West shows out on the second round you have a marked finesse on the third round. If West follows to the second round the suit has split 3-2.
An alternative line is to cash the Ace and then play low to the 10. This allows you to pick up the suit for 3 tricks whenever East started with QJxx, but gives up a trick unnecessarily whenever East started with QJx or QJxx or QJxxx.
(c) The correct line is to run the 10.
The best line is the same in all cases
In all cases you can’t do anything if West started with QJxx or QJxxx.
DON’T CASH THE ACE AND KING UNLESS YOU KNOW THE SUIT SPLITS 3-2
It’s generally correct to delay the spade guess as long as possible.
The temptation is to draw trumps, cash your clubs and hope to guess right in spades.
That will work fine if trumps are 3-3 (36% of the time ) but consider what happens if they are 4-2 (48% of the time).
If they split 4-2 you’ll have no trumps left when you play a spade and you’ll lose an extra diamond trick after the ♠ A has been taken. Down one.
THE SECRET IS TO PLAY A SPADE IMMEDIATELY so that you have trumps in dummy to cope with a further diamond lead.
You still have to guess the spade position correctly, but you need to do that anyway.
Of course the same play would be necessary if dummy had ♠ KQ52
All you really want to know is how many spade losers partner has.
Bid 5 ♥ which asks partner the question.
The responses are:
Pass with neither first nor second round control in spades
Bid 5 ♠ with ♠ A (because 7 ♥ may be on)
Bid 5 NT with the guarded King (which allows you to play in 6 NT if necessary)
Bid 6 ♥ with a singleton spade
IF THE OPPONENTS HAVE BID ONE SUIT, A RAISE OR LEAP TO THE 5 LEVEL OF THE AGREED MAJOR ASKS YOU TO BID A SLAM WITH FIRST OR SECOND ROUND CONTROL IN THEIR SUIT.
Do not confuse this with 1 ♥ – 4 ♠ – 5 ♥ which is a competitive bid at the 5 level.
Slam will be touch and go because West is expected to have a balanced 16-17 count.
West has made an invitational raise and you decide you will bid slam.
DO NOT simply bid 6 NT (unless you are playing pairs and are prepared to risk 6 NT failing in order to get a better score)
At teams or IMPS it is better to explore the possibility of a suit fit because a 4-4 fit will generally play better in that suit than in notrump.
East should bid 5 ♣ the lowest 4 card suit with the intention that you both bid your suits up the way until a fit is found. If a fit isn’t found you play in 6 NT.
On this hand, after East bids 5 ♣, West simply bids 6 ♣.
This hand came up last night and as you can see 6 ♣ makes easily but 6 NT cannot make.
You have a choice between passing and playing at the 3 level in a minor suit.
But which minor suit?
I’m assuming you play 2 ♠ is a transfer to clubs and 2 NT is a transfer to diamonds.
If you play 2 NT is a transfer to an unspecified minor you will have to guess which suit is best!
Most players agree to break a transfer when they like the suit. This typically works well when you transfer into a major suit.
A better plan is to reverse that rule when you transfer into a minor suit.
If you play 2 NT is a transfer to diamonds then opener bids 3 ♣ if she DOES NOT LIKE diamonds and bids 3 ♦ if she LIKES diamonds.
This means that if opener bids 3 ♣ you can pass and play in the assumed better minor fit.
THE IMPORTANT THING IS THAT NOT ONLY DO YOU PLAY IN YOUR BETTER FIT BUT THE STRONGER HAND ALWAYS PLAYS THE HAND.